Barcelona, a photo a day

Heaven and Hell?


Today, exceptionally, 2 pictures.
Walking through the Raval part of Barcelona, I saw this building. Interesting, a metal bar, with a curious name. I’ve read somewhere that there are several Hell’s Angels gangs in Barcelona. Maybe this is one of their places.

What makes it a bit more interesting is this next photo. Same street, maybe 10 meters away.

I wonder what they think of each other? Maybe the hard rockers think the Church is Hell, and the bar is heaven, and vice versa. The Church goers might think the name of the bar is very appropriate. Who knows.
And yes, the Nestle sign is weird… I can’t really see them rockers drinking milk… But why not.

18 responses

  1. The ice cream sign above the metal bar is a nice touch, got a kick out it! That, and the bowl of fruits above it. Oh the contradictions! (And that was before I saw the second photo.) =)

    Like

    July 31, 2009 at 2:40 am

  2. Fascinating photos of a very interesting place. Amazing that Hells Angels are there. Doesn't seem to fit at all. Love your photos. They are very good.

    Like

    July 30, 2009 at 5:29 pm

  3. Anonymous

    Hi Rob. I was in Barcelona the first 2 weeks of September visiting my brother who was playing in the Cirque du Soleil.
    One day I was walking alone in a neigbourhood near the hotel in the Diagonal Mar area and came upon a door that had a sign saying “Barcelona Hells Angels.”
    Even if I had a camera with me, I doubt I would have taken a picture of the door. 🙂
    Sandy

    Like

    July 30, 2009 at 1:42 am

  4. Very nice photography.

    Be part of history. Abraham Lincoln

    Like

    July 29, 2009 at 10:14 am

  5. The yin & yang, all in one block. Nice shots, nice comparison Rob.

    Like

    July 29, 2009 at 6:17 am

  6. That's great story in Contrast! Your thought make me laugh.

    Like

    July 29, 2009 at 5:29 am

  7. Hi Rob! Interesting contrasting photographs. Your blog is very nice. The images are very beautiful. God is Great. Best wishes.

    http://www.thedynamicnature.com

    Like

    July 29, 2009 at 2:53 am

  8. Maybe they should get together for a party and break down the barrier with a little vino roso?

    Like

    July 29, 2009 at 1:21 am

  9. What a contrast! Looks like the graffiti artists don't care either way.

    Like

    July 28, 2009 at 10:18 pm

  10. What a contrast! Strange and funny find! Makes me wonder if it's safe at night.

    Like

    July 28, 2009 at 8:53 pm

  11. It reminds me one time I saw a “motel” next to those evangelical churches. And as far as I know, the people from the church would go around the “motel” inviting people to “redeem themselves”.

    The Nestlé ad in the Metal bar totally feels out of place.

    Like

    July 28, 2009 at 8:37 pm

  12. Rob

    Muito obrigado, Leia e Cezar!

    Like

    July 28, 2009 at 7:36 pm

  13. Maybe if the church-goers get too much of heaven then can go next door and raise a little hell?

    Great shots, Rob. Fascinating! Neither one looks very attractive.

    I meant to tell you, also, that I really like your header photo!

    Like

    July 28, 2009 at 7:10 pm

  14. Rob

    James, believe me, been there, done that! Maybe not in this joint, but I might actually!

    Like

    July 28, 2009 at 6:59 pm

  15. I dare you to go into the Metal bar. 🙂

    Like

    July 28, 2009 at 6:51 pm

  16. What a wonderful blog!Ohhh Barcelona…magnificent place!We visit there in 2006 and it was a kind of honeymoon for us.Absolutely we need to came back!Your blog is awesome, congratulations for so beautiful posts!
    You are very kind and thanks so much for your visit and comments!
    Greetings from (a Brazilian family)from Luxembourg
    Léia

    Like

    July 28, 2009 at 6:49 pm

  17. Your photography is very interesting and I enjoy it very much.
    Sunny 🙂

    Like

    July 28, 2009 at 6:44 pm

  18. This one is really funny…

    Like

    July 28, 2009 at 6:39 pm

Leave a Reply

