Barcelona, a photo a day

Need a change


I need a change. So, today, something totally different. I almost got arrested for taking this photo, by 2 guards, armed with big old rifles.
And what is it? This is the Oberoi shopping mall, near Mumbai, Maharashtra, India, in june last year. Taking pictures inside a shopping mall is TOTALLY forbidden in India.
What does that have to do with Barcelona? Nothing really, except maybe that here, you can do it.
Oh yeah: I love Indian shopping malls!!!

12 responses

  1. Everyone needs a change once in awhile. Glad you didn't get arrested!

    Like

    September 26, 2009 at 10:45 pm

  2. Rob

    Jacob, they are ten times bigger than anything you can find in Spain. Fascinating places, great places for a photographer…

    Like

    September 26, 2009 at 4:47 pm

  3. they must do the same here in my place to prevent bombing. Suck terrorists.

    Like

    September 26, 2009 at 4:14 pm

  4. What people do now in the name of security, almost arrested because you were taking pictures!

    Like

    September 26, 2009 at 11:19 am

  5. Hey, you're in India? Mumbai? This is a cool photo and I wonder how quickly you shot it because as you mentioned it's strictly prohibited. I stay so close to the Oberoi Mall but I haven't been in there yet!!! 😀

    Pixellicious Photos

    Like

    September 26, 2009 at 10:30 am

  6. Love this! Nothing like defying authority – there is a lot of paranoia about photographing public buildings and bridges and borders in India – I have some great ones at the land border between Bangladesh and India at a remote northwestern border near Nilphamari – Siliguri enroute to Darjeeling. (do you know that area?) and there are no guards to enforce the rule.When I was in India nearly30 years ago there were no fancy shopping malls and Oberoi were posh hotels!
    Catherine

    Like

    September 26, 2009 at 12:46 am

  7. Oi Rob! Eu ainda não entendi o porquê da proibição. Por mais que tenha tentado, não vi nada que a Índia tivesse para esconder.

    Abraços,

    Furtado.

    Like

    September 26, 2009 at 12:14 am

  8. I had no idea, Rob. These guards must be very good at what they do to have noticed you and your camera.

    Like

    September 26, 2009 at 12:05 am

  9. Given Mumbai's recent history, I can sympathize with a certain amount of paranoia.

    But, it looks like most shopping malls in the U.S. Is an Indian mall different from a Barcelona mall?

    Like

    September 25, 2009 at 11:14 pm

  10. The restricitions are sometimes tough – and varying! I have had problems in the Paris metro, in Spanish churches…

    Like

    September 25, 2009 at 10:53 pm

  11. I tried taking a photo in an indoor Mall in Birmingham, England and got scolded there, too!

    Like

    September 25, 2009 at 10:27 pm

  12. That's okay Rob. Sometimes you just need a change. I'm not surprised about the guards. That's a big no-no in some places. I still want to get one of those t-shirts that says “I'm a photographer, NOT A TERRORIST!”

    Like

    September 25, 2009 at 7:14 pm