Barcelona, a photo a day

Palau del Lloctinent, the archives of the Crown of Aragon


The Lloctinent, or Lieutenant, later called the Viceroy, was the representative of the Kings of Spain in Catalunya. He had his own Palau, palace, just next door to the Royal Castle in Barcelona.

Want to know more? Here is what Wiki has to say. It is in Catalan, please use your usual translation devices if you don’t read Catalan.

And this is the Royal Palace, with King Martin’s watchtower.

Map picture
9 responses

  1. This building has its great architecture, the viceroy was lucky to live

    Like

    August 31, 2010 at 9:49 pm

  2. Great series and place. Thanks for your comments! 🙂

    Like

    August 31, 2010 at 8:54 pm

  3. Stunning pictures!This place is really interesting!
    Thanks for all information and I need to say I'm enchanted by that 3rd picture, the angle, the arches and so on…BEAUTIFUL composition!
    Léia

    Like

    August 31, 2010 at 3:53 pm

  4. Beautiful!!! I'd live there. 🙂

    Like

    August 31, 2010 at 3:25 pm

  5. the watchtower looks awe inspiring even the colonnade arches.
    somehow reminded me of Romeo and Juliet. ^0^

    Like

    August 31, 2010 at 3:16 pm

  6. I have been there but I never know the history of this place before. Anyway, I love it. 🙂

    Like

    August 31, 2010 at 1:43 pm

  7. What a fantastic place – it's huge!
    I hope you are feeling better these days after your big surgery!!

    Like

    August 31, 2010 at 12:30 pm

  8. You are surrounded with so many beautiful places…..
    Great architecture and colors.

    Like

    August 31, 2010 at 10:49 am

  9. I am sure I could live in such a place.

    Like

    August 31, 2010 at 10:15 am