Barcelona, a photo a day

Gaudi’s pet


I have a couple of days off, the weather today is awesome, so we decided to go to Parque Guell, on a photo shoot. Parque Guell, or Guell’s park, was built between 1900 and 1914 by Antonio Gaudi, and named after Count Eusebi Guell, Gaudi’s patron. It is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Well, the park is a fantastic place. We took over 230 photos, so we do have plenty to show you, a bit later.

Let’s start with the dragon, aka the lizard, aka the thing. You’ll find his picture in absolutely every single guide book about Barcelona. I was a bit reticent showing it earlier, as I didn’t really want this blog to be just another tourist thing. But it didn’t happen, so here it is.

You’ll almost have to queue to get a picture of the dragon alone, as EVERYBODY wants to be on a picture with it. Anyway, 10 minutes, and a bit a cropping to get to this. Enjoy!
Much more about the park in the next few days, or here, as soon as I choose and post something.

Tres beau temps aujourd’hui, nous sommes donc alles au Parque Guell, voir la bete de Gaudi. La bete, ou plutot le dragon, est partie d’une fontaine a l’entree du parc, et il faut vraiment faire la queue pour pouvoir prendre sa photo seul: tout le monde veut SA photo avec le dragon.
Bref, 10 minutes et un peu de rafistolage photographique plus tard, voici le resultat.
Nous avons pris beaucoup de photos, je vous montrerai donc beaucoup plus du parc dans les prochains jours. Si vous ne pouvez pas attendre, cliquez simplement ici dans quelques heures!

13 responses

  1. VP

    I'd like one of these on my terrace…

    Like

    January 27, 2010 at 6:58 pm

  2. wonderful! i understand how hard it is to take a picture alone with some famous sculpture…i felt that when i wanted a picture with Canova´s Eros and Psyche at the Louvre…

    Like

    January 27, 2010 at 2:33 pm

  3. What a colorful little fella.

    Like

    January 27, 2010 at 5:31 am

  4. This is so beautiful and fantastic !! Thanks for sharing !!

    Like

    January 27, 2010 at 5:30 am

  5. I love this colorful creature – and I like your glasses, too!

    Three Rivers Daily Photo

    Like

    January 27, 2010 at 3:51 am

  6. I wish I had a mosaic pet like that one for my garden!
    I'm still laughing at your funny glasses in your profile photo – silly – love it!

    Like

    January 27, 2010 at 1:58 am

  7. I'll bet someone had to drag you away from this dragon – or lizard – or thing! Interesting post and very colorful whatever!

    Like

    January 26, 2010 at 11:21 pm

  8. m_m

    This park is really awesome! Beautiful pet:)
    Regards,
    m_m

    Like

    January 26, 2010 at 11:16 pm

  9. JM

    The lizard is fantastic as well as all the park, or anything Gaudi has put his hands on.

    Like

    January 26, 2010 at 8:06 pm

  10. The colors are so pretty and he looks like he is laughing and having a great time having his picture taken!

    Like

    January 26, 2010 at 6:47 pm

  11. I think Luna could not chase this critter! LOL
    Ahh Rob, wonderful post and I'm so envious about the beautiful sunny day!
    Hugs
    Léia 🙂

    Like

    January 26, 2010 at 6:46 pm

  12. I loved Park Guell. I took a lot of pictures on my visit. It took a lot of waiting and then cropping for me to finally have one picture with my hand on the dragon.

    Like

    January 26, 2010 at 6:41 pm

  13. I am glad you decided to show this since this is something I have never seen & I think the “thing” is rather neat.

    Like

    January 26, 2010 at 5:57 pm